New Spain (Mexico’s name during the colonial period)

By Manzanillo Sun Writer from the April 2017 Edition New Spain (Spanish: Nueva España) was a colonial territory of the Spanish Empire, in the New World north of the Isthmus of Panama. It was established following the Spanish conquest of the Aztec Empire in 1521 and, following additional conquests, it was made a viceroyalty (Spanish: […]

Continue reading